Stephanie Okyere — BRIDGE Tutor

Color Group: Blue

Tutor Subject(s): Chemistry, Calculus

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Nationality: Ghanaian

Place of Birth: Accra, Ghana

Hometown: Kwehu Bepong, Eastern Region, Ghana

Place in Family: Youngest of three children

Favorite Color(s): Black, white

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Song:There’s an Outpouring - Ty Bello (feat Folabi Nuel & 121 Selah)

Fun Fact: I can speak at least three languages and I’m double jointed in my shoulders

Best Bridge Memory: The day of graduation

Reason for wanting to become a Tutor: Immediately after graduation, I knew I wanted to become a BRIDGE tutor. As a tutor, I want to be a motivator to the BRIDGE students and encourage them to strive to be the best they can be. This helps them reach their goals while recognizing their strengths to focus on different learning techniques which can help them to be successful in the future. By encouraging independence in the BRIDGE students, while still instilling that it is okay to ask for help, I can teach them how to persevere and be resilient in their first few weeks in the School of Engineering. Eventually, the students will understand that they must put forth an effort to benefit from each and everyone one of their tutors. I hope I can impact this BRIDGE by having them look at how they think and learn, how they study, and how they manage their studies for the rest of their life. It is my greatest goal as a tutor to do the same for this BRIDGE class as my tutors did for me last year. Lastly, having amazing relationships in the engineering field is really important. So I hope that I can show the students to respect each other by first respecting them, so they can all have relationships during their time at BRIDGE.

In my spare time I like to: Dance (afro), cook (especially jollof), read, binge watch Netflix shows/YouTube, and work on projects in CAD (Fusion 360 or Onshape). Sometimes, I go on spontaneous late night drives/trips (no destination or out of state) while listening to my favorite worship music with the windows down. Lastly and most importantly, I love to spend my spare studying the Bible.



Future Aspiration(s): As someone who’s made it a personal goal to always make the people around me safe and happy, honestly, my aspirations are all over the place. The reason being that they are not only motivated by what I will personally gain but what I can give to people (whether it be tangible or intangible). Currently, it is my goal to graduate from the university as a Chemical Engineer with a phenomenal paying job (of course!) and a place to live in Boston. After undergraduate, I aspire to further my education at Dartmouth College for my PhD so I can research lithium sulfur batteries and potentially alleviate the issue of fire outbreaks worldwide. At some point I want to come back and teach here at UConn as a professor in engineering or chemistry, inspire and provide help to others as I gained from my BRIDGE family.

Words I live by:

”What God cannot do does not exist”
“It always seems impossible until it is done”
“I am divine”